Tags

, , , , , , , ,

leibster-award1

The Liebster Award is an award given to bloggers by bloggers.  It’s a pay-it-forward-way to encourage fellow writers to keep writing.  Given to bloggers with less than 200 followers, the award’s origins are clouded in mystery.  To receive the award you must answer your nominator’s questions on your blog and then nominate three bloggers to receive the award.

Thank you to genealogy blogger Gary Roberts (http://backtrackingthecommon.com) who focuses on his fascinating family history originating in the Southwestern part of the United States.

  1. What are your top two motivations for blogging?

My motivations mostly stems from one of my career goals, which is to become a professional family history that publishes family sketches, brick wall methodologies, and genealogy tips for society publications/periodicals. I also draw a lot of inspiration from the desire to document my family history and tell the stories of my ancestors.

  1. Describe your early attempts at blogging?

When I started my genealogy blog in late 2008, it was in part to supplement the research of my high school senior project on genealogy. That year was particularly busy; I was able to keep a log of my many research trips, such as NARA and Library of Congress in Washington D.C. I found myself post new findings about my ancestors almost daily. The warm feedback I received from the community about my blog page has inspired me to keep writing.

  1. Describe your immediate family and share how, if in any way, they influence your blogging?

Working at home as a genealogist is great because it allows me to share and connect with family members about our history. We enjoy hiking and  taking care of two dogs, Mike and Daisy. My family has supported my dreams to become a genealogist and I am grateful for their support.

  1. What is the favorite blog post you’ve written and please share a link to it?

“Voted that his rights shall have their full proportion [part 1], talks about my ancestor Elisha Freeman who withheld his land rights to Dartmouth College. One of my goals as a genealogist is to add historical context to my ancestors lives in order to better understand the. Investigating controversies and social life in 18th century America is fascinating to me and I have enjoyed researching it. Elisha Freeman’s story is one I post about frequently and has proven to be an intriguing research case. https://fletcherfamilytree.wordpress.com/2015/08/28/voted-that-his-rights-shall-have-their-full-proportion-part-1/

  1. Describe how your research and blogging influence each other.

Blogging is an excellent medium to present the genealogist’s research process. Writing in itself is a very engaging activity and will allow our brain to see complex research problems in new ways. You may find yourself in the midst of writing about an ancestor that you had not looked for a particular set of details about their life. Concerning the research of my family tree, I have not added every footnote and document I have come across. My blog posts happen when I say to myself that I need to explore what I am finding deeper. Writing about my methods  allows me to self-reflect and analyze my own methodologies. Research into other genealogy topics has also led me to using my blog as a forum to share important genealogy resources to the community.

  1. If you had only one thing to say to your readers, what would it be?

Practicing something daily that allows you to disengage from the noise of modern life is important to your health.

I have nominated three prolific bloggers for the Liebster Award and they are….

  1. Catherine Meder-Dempsey at Opening Doors in Brickwalls
  2. Marian Pierre Louis at Marian’s Roots and Rambles

Amy Cohen at Brotmanblog: A Family Journey asked me to forward her nomination along, so I am nominating EmilyAnn Frances at Through the Byzantine Gate

Should they choose to accept my nomination, they will need to post their answers to the following questions and nominate three other bloggers for the award.

  1. When did you decide to start a blog and what is the emphasis of for your blog?
  2. Describe how blogging and research influence each other.
  3. List a few of your favorite blogs.
  4. What goals do you have for your blog in the next year?
  5. What is your favorite post that you have written?
  6. What are three interests/hobbies of yours outside of blogging and family history?

I look forward to reading my nominees’ responses.  Congratulations!


