I was ecstatic to hear from my colleague Marian Pierre-Louis that Judy Russell (www.thelegalgenealogist.com) had offered to publish one of my articles as a guest post for her blog. In this piece, I examined one source that I had become familiar with through my senior thesis. My thesis focused on published memorials for Union Soldiers of the Civil War. Through my research, I was able to survey and analyze the literature in a way that revealed how these were not just for a family’s keepsake and long lasting memory, but were instruments of the Union cause.

Thank you to Judy and Marian for making this happen. I hope you all enjoy reading it!

“The ‘Purpose’ of a Source: A Case Study of Memorials For Union Soldiers”

http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog/2015/09/29/the-purpose-of-a-source/

