Tags

, , , , ,

Many of our ancestors have amassed a great deal of  documentation, with folders stuffed to the brim. Such is the case of the founder of Sandwich, Massachusetts, Edmund Freeman. I have some blog pieces from past about him and his life still begs curiosity. While I have read many genealogies and scholar’s articles on the Freeman family, it is important to understand what sources are authoritative and worth citing.

Most would say Robert Charles Anderson’s Great Migration is a good place to find a colonial ancestor’s genealogical bibliography, as in what scholars and historians have already looked in to the questions we have today. Compared to Anderson’s list of sources, I have Edmond Freeman’s citations from Plymouth Colony Records, “Prence Freeman of East Hampton, Connecticut” from The American Genealogist and Mary Walton-Ferris’ Dawes-Gates and Allied Families Genealogy.

My grandmother had left behind photocopies from library books which I identified as including George Norbury Mackenzie’s Colonial Families of The United States and John Camden Hotten, Original Lists of Persons of Quality. I was glad I took a few minutes to look up these sources.

As I catalog all of these research papers, I realize I have never taken the time to really peruse them and organize the details. Creating a chronology would point out discrepancies, if any and could lead to a published revision of Edmund Freeman’s genealogical account. More realistic would be an article that “magnifies” the events in his life to have more historical context. Has anyone ever undertaking the project of revising an ancestor’s previously published genealogy?

Copyright (c) 2015

