An anonymous distant cousin, who we are related by my 4x great grandfather, Jacob Daughenbaugh, sent me a large collection of original photographs that came in the mail, many of them are well preserved in booklets [dont know the proper term]. While I have my own family photographs from the same period, the collection from this family is much more charming and I am very happy to have received this today.

Also today involved witnessing an historic document, in fact, it was the original manuscript of the first deed ever recorded in Plymouth Colony. Plymouth County held a grand opening ceremony for it’s new registry of deeds building and it is amazing that the original records of the 17th century have survived in the County. This contained William Bradford’s original handwriting and the signatures of John Billington, Edward Winslow, and Cuthbert Cuthbertson. Volunteering can lead to great experiences and I’m glad to be helping Mayflower Society with the history of the Society House, formerly known as Gov. Edward Winslow’s House, the great-grandson of Pilgrim Edward Winslow.

