An example of how other researchers and staff can help with your own research

Jake Fletcher

One of the things that the NEHGS has available is microfilms of Massachusetts Vital Records from 1841-1915. Carolyn suggested I do some research on James Watts, who married one of my Swedish relatives, Asserina Anderson. I consulted the census record I had of James Watts when my great-grandfather, Henry W Anderson, was boarding in his house. According to his listing in the 1910 US Federal Census, he was born 41 years old which would put his birthdate from 1868-1869 in Massachusetts. I checked the index of Massachusetts Births 1866-1870 and had an entry of James R Watts in Marblehead in 1866. With the volume and page entry handy, I found the original.

james-watts-massachusetts-births-edit-1

James R Watts, born Jan 1 1866, male, born in Marblehead, his father is James Watts, mother is Roseanne Burns, they are living in Marblehead, his father is working as a ropemaker, his father was born in Cambridgeport, his…

View original post 355 more words

