Tags

, , , , ,

In my diligent search for the direct Freeman line, I have decided to contact as many historians and genealogists as possible.

First, I spoke with the Research team at the Franklin County Historical Society in Malone, NY (www.franklinhistory.org) to research my ancestors of Westville and Fort Covington. I am excited to see what their find brings. I also reached out to the county courthouse to research a trial that happened concerning the estate of my 4x great-grandfather, John Dewey. [1] I requested a search at the court house and the archivist could not locate any records of the trial

ephraim dewey v. freeman

In Wisconsin, LuAnn Elsinger a genealogist from Portage County, Wisconsin (Stevens Point Area Gen. Society) found some great clues on Azro Freeman. In a compiled history of early Belmont residents, Azron Freeman was the first postmaster of the town from 1856 to 1864. Not only is it a great insight into his life experience, but provides further evidence to the date of his arrival of Wisconsin since he migrated from New York.

I also contacted genealogists from Dayton County, Sue Dunbar (Waupaca Area Gen. Society) did not find any probate or death records of my ancestors at the Waupaca County Courthouse, she suggested I contact the Parfreyville Church which may have more information, so I wrote to them recently.

Thanks to everyone who has helped in my research and have a wonderful holiday! Plenty of exciting finds to this day and will be posting soon.

[1] “Notice of Trial, Ephraim O. Dewey v. Dewey et. al” dated 14 October 1884. Franklin Gazette (Fort Covington, NY) Feb 1885. Online at NYS Historical Newspapers.

_______________________________

Jake Fletcher, “Help from Genealogists and Historical Societies,” Travelogues of a Genealogist, posted 23 Nov 2014.

Copyright (c) 2015 Jake Fletcher. All materials protected under copyright. Do not copy or reproduce without author’s permission.

