I suppose it is business as usual (even if i have been working here a total of 7 days). The case I chose was pretty hard, no one else really wanted it (we have 6-8 weeks to respond to these and if the researchers dont like it they tend to put it at the bottom of the pile), but it looked interesting to me. The client was looking for the original documents of a supreme court case involving customs issues over the Vermont/Canadian border in 1813. The ancestor had received some smuggled fur and wine. It was pretty hard for me to research this, while I found a transcription of the case on google books, i’m not familiar with court records and i find the reports too dense. With the help of the research team, we were able to determine that the event involving her ancestor was part of entire other court case. The client had already called many repositories to find these records with no luck and was basically playing phone tag. I called a couple of court houses in Chitteden County, Vermont, but they needed more info then we had. I was suggested to try the National Archives, because the client was also looking for records of the collector of customs. While I didn’t find them, I found textual records of the Court Records we were looking for in Waltham, so we should be able to get them. As of now I am waiting to hear back from Waltham. This case was much more about finding records then finding out info about people. However, the client was also wondering why his internment in Berlin, CT was five years later then his date of death in VT. The best possible explanation is that his family chose to bury him there, since he was from Berlin, CT. I researched this man and found he was dead three years later then previously thought.

This week I moved over to Archives and Manuscripts department. I have been doing a lot of work with organizing collections (bascially unbounding old books and putting things into folders. I am glad i get to experience both of these departments to see where I could see myself in the field of history and genealogy as collections and archives are an important part of history.

Copyright (c) 2009 by Jake Fletcher

