At NEHGS, I talked to Marie Daly, who is the resident expert on Irish Families and told her how I found Bartholomew’s children’s baptisms and an index listing in the Griffith’s Valuations. He was listed as being in Fish Quay townland in Galway City.

Marie was very helpful and walked me through everything and had tons of suggestions. Luckily, NEHGS had the full Griffith’s Valuations on microfiche and so I was able to get all of the information.

bartholomew-oliver-griffiths-valuations

The record states Bartholomew Oliver lived at Fish Quay at the intersection of Flood Street, his house was worth 8 pounds, which Marie said was a lot and lived most likely in a two-floor middle class home. Marie then mentioned the ordinance maps that Ireland did for these tax valuations in the late 1830s, they also had those on microfiche. After shifting the fiche around we found fish quay and she determined a likely location of his house.

fish-quay-map-blog-edit

Early on, I learned the difficulty of researching in Ireland before a certain period of time, so I guess I must be lucky to have determined an exact, or rather near exact locality, in Ireland. There is more work to be done with the genealogical proof that Bartholomew Oliver is my relative, but it seems quite likely. I need to research more in the Irish church records and also Marie suggested the letters of the Antiquites of Galway, which are letters based on those ordinance maps, which I will research in next time I am at NEHGS.

Copyright (c) 2009 by Jake Fletcher

