signe-anderson-newspaper-clip_edited-1

A photocopy of the article came from a granddaughter of Signe. It is about my great-grandparents sueing the man whose car ( a chauffeur was driving it) hit my great-grandmother Signe Marie Johansson. I had searched Marblehead Messenger papers previously for an article on her accident in 1935-1936, when she died. No results, but this article was from April 3 of 1931 to 1933 and the date of the accident was October 26th. With this in mind, I should be able to find some more information. Signe therefore did not die in the immediate aftermath of the accident, but the tragedy would affect her for the rest of her life.

The story is tragic, and I am interested in confirming, it was hard for my grandfather when it happened. She was quadriplegic for a year when she passed due to the accident. The fact that my great-grandparents sued for 220,000 dollars is remarkable because it was lot of money in the 1930s.

Copyright (c) 2009 by Jake Fletcher

