Blog Post Day 5
I went to the DAR Library today, it was a great succsess. I had a lot of things that I searched on their catalog beforehand, so I had a good idea of what my day would look like. First thing I had a conference with Henry Hoff, the Editor of the Register, which is the main publication of the New England Historic Genealogical Society. His expertise is in New York and the area surrounding it, so I talked to him about my 3 x-great grandmother, Mary Ann Dewey, in trying to confirm the information on her. From sources within the family, she was born in Quebec in 1833 and died in Wisconsin 1876. Other sources suggest she was born in New York, which could be the case, since the Freemans moved to Franklin County, New York in the 1840s. We looked at a Dewey Genealogy, while they were a lot of people named Mary Ann and even more named Mary, the people were not her or unlikely. One thing I asked Henry about was citations since he is an editor of a genealogical publication and directed me to the guide on the NEHGS website.

I moved on to my Freeman ancestors in New York, where my failure would be short lived. The DAR Library has a set of Franklin County deaths, marriages, and cemetery abstracts. For a while, I have been trying to figure out the death dates of my 4x-great grandparents, David and Lavina Freeman. There they were, as were there cemetery abstracts. Interestingly, David Freeman stone is noted as saying Revolutionary War, however he was born 1793, perhaps it had something to do with his father, Elisha Freeman. Lavina died of heart disease. I found information on two of their children, Lucy and Joel S Freeman. I probably have to go back and search more of the volumes, to see what else I can learn. The DAR also holds an index to New Hampshire vital records up to 1900. I was searching for my patriot ancestor, Elisha Freeman’s marriage to Lucy Bartlett, as it was reported in New Hampshire (even though they were living in Vermont). The card was there, with the correct date (2 May 1775), however there was no other information than their names and the date of marriage.
I searched more of the GRC Reports for my California ancestors (The Olivers) because I discovered from General Connor’s pension that Bartholomew Patrick Oliver was a nephew of Dennis J Oliver, a rich Irish Merchant from San Francisco. I found a lot of information on him before the night before when I did a google search on him. On google books, he was written about in a book called Foreign Pioneers by . I searched for the Olivers as well as Catherine and Christian Bollinger, Mervyn O’Neill’s grandmother and great-grandfather, who was from Missouri, in light of receiving Mervyn’s mother’s obituary. While the GRC Report had mixed results, I found a Bollinger Genealogy called Bollinger Connections by. I found Mervyn’s parents in there! The genealogy was great because it included photos and records and lots of information on the Bollinger migration. Catherine Bollinger was born 1840 in Cape Girardeau County, Missouri. Her father Christian Bollinger went out to California in lieu of the Gold Rush. The Bollinger bought land in was then Spanish Territory in the Early 1800s, originally coming from North Carolina and Pennsylvania. Unfortunately, I haven’t read or photocopied all the stuff I wanted, but I will surely make a page for the Bollinger Family. All-in-All, I made a lot of progress in various areas. I like the DAR Library a lot because of its unique and boundless resources and relaxed atmosphere, with the freedom to get all the books you want.

