Part of the senior project is doing a benefit to the larger community based on my topic. Instead of simply using my knowledge to create a how to do genealogy project, I thought something a little more hands on would be better. Carolyn suggested the idea of volunteering at a genealogy or historical society where they need volunteers to organize their materials.

I contacted Meredith Marcinkewicz, the curator of my town’s historical society and told her the nature of my project and how I was willing to help. She told me how she would love me to work on a project there, so I went in on Saturday morning to introduce myself and get my assignment.

The assignment that she gave me was to organize a shelf full of maps and blueprints related to the town of Shirley.

img_1484

The  maps were organized by accession numbers. When an artifact enters a museum, the curator catalogues the artifact with an accession number. The accession number is the year it was accessioned and then a number based on consecutive order of the accession. The accession numbers for the maps were written on acid-free paper.

img_14851

So basically, I made sure things were in the right place and made the shelf more organized. A lot of things like assessor’s maps were not numbered. But with what was number, I made an excel spreadsheet, cataloguing the items on the shelf by accession number, name of map, date of map, and date received by the Shirley Historical Society.

img_1487

After reorganizing the shelf, even if most of the stuff was in the right order. I made notes of things that may need to be fixed or were missing.

Copyright (c) 2008 by Jake Fletcher

